Author Archives: Independent Bail Bonds

What Should I Know About Drug Charges?

Police Vehicle Pulling over Future Defendant for Drug Charges

What Drugs Are Felony Charges?

In the state of Louisiana, for marijuana, felony charges will be assigned depending on how many pounds of marijuana is found. For sixty to two-thousand pounds of marijuana, the penalty is a felony charge with five to thirty years of incarceration. The maximum fine for such a charge is $100,000. Any quantity more than two-thousand pounds of marijuana is also eligible for a felony charge, although the years of incarceration and maximum fines differ. Controlled substances are defined as having no accepted medical use in the United States and hold a strong probability for abuse. These drugs include cannabis, codeine, ecstasy, hallucinogens, strong opiates, morphine, and more. With any high volume of these substances, felony charges can ensue and will depend on the five schedules Louisiana divides controlled dangerous substances into.

What is the Sentence for Possession of Drugs?

All states in America regulate and control the possession of controlled dangerous substances, also known as CDS. Louisiana divides CDS into five categories. Schedule 1 identifies the most dangerous drugs, which have an extremely high probability of abuse and addiction. The penalties for these types of drugs vary depending on the specific drug involved. They usually include a fine of at least $5,000 or more. This fine also applies to Schedule II-V substances. Imprisonment varies between five to ten years according to the substance involved.

How Long is the Sentence for Drug Possession?

Prison time or jail time happens when a person is convicted of possession of a controlled substance. Imprisonment ranges widely depending on the crime charged and the type of drugs involved. Misdemeanor bail is available for those charged with misdemeanor crimes. 

How Do You Beat Drug Possession Charges?

In Louisiana, it is important to note that a drug charge is a felony if it is punishable by hard labor. There is an important distinction between a misdemeanor and a felony charge in Louisiana. This is because if a defendant is convicted of a drug charge in Louisiana, there are serious consequences. The best thing to do if you are arrested, is to say nothing and to ask for a lawyer immediately. Bail bonds for drug charges can greatly alleviate the burden of drug possession charges, and set a pathway for freedom and compliance.

Can Felony Drug Charges Be Dropped?

Felony drug charges can include possession of methamphetamine, cocaine, heroin, crack and other narcotics. These narcotics can even include prescription drugs. Whether or not felony charges can be dropped is a matter of circumstance, having a good lawyer, and displaying good behavior. One of the principal questions a good defense attorney will ask is whether the drugs that were found during the search were the product of a legal or illegal search. If the search was illegal, the evidence must be suppressed. This rule is commonly known as the exclusionary rule. Another way people win drug cases is through lack of knowledge or awareness of the existence of illegal drugs.

When Do Drug Charges Become Federal?

Federal punishments are usually always more harsh than state penalties. The difference between a state penalty and a federal penalty for the same crime can mean the difference between seven years and a lifetime. State crimes become federal crimes if a federal informant named you, if a federal officer made the arrest, if the crime was committed on federal property, if the crime involved crossing state lines, or if it falls into a “catch-all” category.

What is Drug Paraphernalia Charges?

In the state of Louisiana, the penalty for distribution, display and possession of drug paraphernalia is 0-15 days in parish jail. It may also include a fine of up to $300. Drug paraphernalia charges are enhanceable, which means the more convictions a defendant receives, the worse the sentence becomes.

Drug Charges in Louisiana

There are two different kinds of drug charges in Louisiana: misdemeanors and felonies. Depending on the Schedule of the drug and the circumstances, the judge could sentence you to jail or place you on probation, regardless of whether or not the charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. While it is true that defendants of misdemeanor charges do not usually get sentenced to jail time, it does happen.

Drug Charges for Individual Who Has Been Fingerprinted

What Drug Charges are Felonies?

It is important to note that if you are charged with drug possession in the state of Louisiana, you will need to consult with a lawyer immediately. Louisiana has some of the most severe drug possession laws in the country and there is not much consistency in the sentences people receive. Felonies can result from the following Schedule I Controlled Substances:


  • Cannabis
  • Codeine
  • Ecstasy
  • Hallucinogens (including LSD, peyote, and psilocybin)
  • Morphine
  • Strong opiates

Are you or someone you know experiencing drug charges? Our friendly operators at Independent Bail Bonds are available now at 225-414-9999 to help with drug charges in Baton Rouge, LA.

Can You Get Bail On a Felony Charge?

Dollar Banknotes, Handcuffs & Judge Gavel on Wooden Table

Basic Info. On Felony Bail Bonds

The law is a complex entity that has consequences when violated. When breaking the law a long process of rules and conditions must be followed and kept up with. When someone has conducted a crime there are many steps that need to be taken following judicial processes and being present for court dates. Oftentimes a defendant for a crime will be required to be held in jail to await a trial. Yet certain cases can allow a defendant to await trial outside of jail by paying a bail bond. Amounts will vary depending on the case from misdemeanor bail to felony bail bonds. No matter the severity, it’s important to contact a lawyer for assistance as well as your local bondman in order to make sure proper measures are being complied with. Here is some basic information regarding crimes, bail, and court.

What does out on felony bond mean?

When someone is out on a felony bond this essentially means that a convicted felon was able to be bailed out of jail time detention awaiting trial through felony bail bonds. A bail bond will work as a conditional release of not having to wait in jail for court as long as a bail amount is paid and the defendant will be present on any court or judicial processes when called upon.

What is felony bail jumping?

Bail jumping occurs when a defendant misses a court date after being bailed out of jail. Since being out on felony bail bonds are conditional and require following judicial processes this is often considered a crime and can result in forfeiting the bail bond with additional charges being added on.

How is the amount of bail determined?

In general bail is set in 95% of most criminal cases. It differs from case to case and a bond hearing with a judge will determine what fines need to be paid. With misdemeanor offenses, for example, they may let you go with $300, DUIs can also be $300 with the addition of taking your license away. Felonies will require apperaing in front of a judge and taking a look at your previous record to determine that you are reliable enough to come back to court and are not a threat to the public. Felony bail bonds will usually be higher to match the severity of a crime and with felonies, you may also get a signature bond as well depending on your background. However, depending on the judge, court, and state that you reside in felony bail bonds in some cases may be so high an amount that you won’t be able to pay it as most people typically won’t have such amounts readily available up front.

How much is a bail bond for a felony?

The bail amount for a felony will change depending on the severity of the case as well as criminal history. The bail amount for battery against a police officer, for example, is around $2,500, battery against a spouse is $10,000 and sexual battery about $25,000. 

How long do you stay in jail if you can’t make bail?

If bail can’t be made then the defendant will go into remand detention which means they will wait for trial in jail instead of having the freedom to be outside of jail with a bail bond. The amount of time you stay in jail will depend on the crime, for example, shoplifting will consist of 2-3 weeks. As of such when police are investigating a defendant’s case than they may be remanded for a maximum of four weeks. When the remand expires than a judge will conduct a short court session which requires the defendant to be present, to see if there are any grounds that can keep a defendant remanded.

Do first time felony offenders go to jail?

First-time offenders that didn’t commit a violent crime and have no past criminal history will either get a suspended sentence, fines, and probation (now called community custody.) With a suspended sentence you aren’t required to serve jail time on the condition that probation is done with fines paid. With a first time felony, first-time there is always an option for the court to impose jail time of 90 days as well.

Coins & Legal Gavel With Paper Bail Bond Message

Conditions of Bail When You Have a Felony

  • Appear in Court
  • Pay Fines
  • Follow Judicial Processes
  • Obey All Laws
  • Follow Curfews
  • Do Not Possess Any Weapons
  • Stay Away From Certain Places/People
  • Refrain From Drug/Alcohol Use
  • Comply With Any Testing

Contact Your Local Bondsman

It’s important to remember that felony bail conditions will be different case by case and if ever in doubt be sure to contact the relevant avenues for more information. A felony bail bondsman will typically work with a family member or lawyer in your place and it’s important to keep in contact in order to keep up to page on conditions. Bail for felony is a serious thing and must be complied with when provided. When you’re in need of bail bonds in Baton Rouge, LA contact your local bondsman. 

When you need help with felony bail bonds in Baton Rouge, LA call 225-414-9999 with Independent Bail Bonds!

What Kind of Charges Are Misdemeanors?

A Picture of a Male's Hands Locked in Handcuffs.

Can You Go To Jail for a Misdemeanor?

Every state in the United States has their own classifications for crimes. In the state of Louisiana, there are two classifications of crimes, misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are a less serious crime, while a felony is the most serious crime you can be charged with. While felonies are sure to provide some life changing circumstances, a lot of people want to know, “Will a misdemeanor ruin my life?” We wouldn’t go so far as to say that a misdemeanor charge would ruin someone’s life, but someone with a misdemeanor charge might have a few obstacles. It is all going to depend on the class of misdemeanor that a person has been charges with. In Louisiana, misdemeanors are divided into three classes–A, B, and C. Many people who don’t know about the classes typically want “What is considered a serious misdemeanor?” and the answer is a class A misdemeanor. Below are the classes of misdemeanors, their charges and penalties.

  • Class A: The types of crimes that can get you charged with a class A misdemeanor is a DUI, underage drinking, or having drug paraphernalia. The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is jail time of up to one year and a fine of up to $2,500.
  • Class B: Having over 2.5 grams of marijuana and criminal trespassing are examples of a class B misdemeanor. People who are charged with a class B can spend up to six months in jail and pay a fine of up to $1,500.
  • Class C: Assault and disorderly conduct are a few examples of a class C misdemeanor. With a class C misdemeanor, can spend a month or less in jail and have to pay a fine of up to $1,000.

When you or someone you love is charged with a misdemeanor, the best thing you can do is invest in misdemeanor bail. Misdemeanor bail will be able to release someone from jail so they can prepare for their court date.

Do Misdemeanors Go Away?

If you or someone you know has been charged and convicted of a misdemeanor in Louisiana, there is a way to get it expunged. In order to have a misdemeanor expunged, there are certain factors that have to be met. Someone who has been charged and convicted with a misdemeanor can have it expunged five years after the fact, or if the case was dismissed or has a deferred sentence, the misdemeanor can be expunged right away. The only time that a misdemeanor cannot be expunged is if the crime involves domestic violence, a sexual offense, or stalking.

While this can’t hurt someone’s chance of getting a misdemeanor expunged, misdemeanor bail jumping can make the situation harder. Bail jumping is someone is out on misdemeanor bail (or some other type of bail) and doesn’t show up for their scheduled court date. In Louisiana, when someone jumps bail on a misdemeanor charge, the person can either face up to six months in prison, be charged with a fine of $500, or be charged with both. Going to an assigned court date is important when you are out on misdemeanor bail, as jumping bail will just add onto your sentence.

Do Misdemeanors Require Bail?

A Picture of a Person Listening To a Judge.

Misdemeanor Bail Bonds

There are a lot of elements when determining a misdemeanor bail amount. Typically, a judge can set the bail amount based on the bail schedule for the particular crime; but there are times when a judge might make the bail amount higher or lower or even release someone on their own recognizance. This will be determined on a case by case basis, as the judge can set bail depending on if the person is a flight risk, their past criminal history, their position in the community, and whether they are a danger to the public. The only time that someone is not allowed bail in Louisiana is if the crime is a capital offense, or it involves drug trafficking and violence. Fortunately, those only apply to felony offenses, so if you or someone you love has been charged with a misdemeanor, then you will more than likely get misdemeanor bail.

If you are needing bail for misdemeanor, then you need to call Independent Bail Bonds. We are able to provide misdemeanor bail in Baton Rouge, LA for those who are in need. Just like you wouldn’t go to an unlicensed bail bond agent for felony bail in Roseville, CA, you wouldn’t go to an unlicensed bail bondsmen when you need reliable misdemeanor bail. Our bail bond services are professional, licensed, and insured, so you can trust that when you call us for misdemeanor bail, you are working with expert bail bond agents who know what they are doing. Please call us today at 225-414-9999 in order to talk with one of our bail bondsmen about getting released from jail with misdemeanor bail.

What Happens When You Get a DUI for the First Time?

Man Holding a Beer Bottle Out of the Window, Meant to Illustrate a DUI.

A DUI Comes with Many Consequences, Some of Them Severe.

Driving under the influence is a fairly common crime, but nevertheless a serious one. Though it can surprise some people, a DUI will lead to your arrest and incarceration. In terms of what happens, you can first except an on-scene sobriety test. If you fail the test, you will almost certainly be arrested. Even if you pass the test, you may still suffer arrest. The reason for this is that you can suffer an arrest for intoxication for other substances than alcohol. Ultimate discretion lies with the arresting officer, so if you’re drowsy from taking too much Sudafed, do not attempt to drive a car.

A first arrest will land you in jail, and bring about a series of unfortunate consequences. If you receive more than one arrest for this crime, you will experience worsening consequences. After three or four convictions, depending on your state, you will receive a felony. At this point, probation and jail sentences become lengthy. Regardless of whether it’s your first or fourth, you will need someone to post bail to escape pre-trial detention. For a bail bond for a DUI in Baton Rouge, LA, call 225-414-9999 for Independent Bail Bonds. We’re the local bondsman that offers emergency service, and we can have you out of jail fast.

DUI Issues and Consequences

There are many issues and consequences that someone with a DUI must face. The first major issue, arrest, is typically unavoidable. If you’ve never experienced an arrest, the process may seem terrifying. While decidedly unpleasant, an arrest is not the end of the world. The officer will place you in handcuffs, then transport you to a local detention facility. Once you arrive at the facility, you will endure confiscation of your possessions, then go through the booking process. This involves a mugshot, fingerprints, and other procedures to document your incarceration. After this, you will have the ability to make phone calls, so be sure to call a bondsman.

At some point, you will appear before a judge for the arraignment hearing. At the arraignment, the judge will officially issue criminal charges and ask for a plea. Once you enter your plea, the judge will decide whether to set bail. With DUIs, you can almost always expect the judge to set bail. If you fail to post DUI bail, you will remain incarcerated until your trial. This pre-trial detention could extend for weeks or even months, so you should try your best to post bail. Hiring the services of a bondsman costs 10 percent the amount of your bail, a number that should be achievable for DUIs.

As for consequences of DUIs, there exist several. The specific consequences you face will depend on your county and the presiding judge. These consequences can include:

  • Jail Time
  • Probation
  • Criminal Record
  • Requirement to Attend AA
  • Requirement to Attend Counseling, Classes, and/or Presentations
  • Suspension of Your Driver’s License
  • Requirement to Install an Inter-Lock Device
  • Fines and Restitution
  • Community Service

A Stern Looking Police Officer Who Has Probably Made a DUI Arrest or Two.

When It Comes to a DUI, Discretion Ultimately Lies with the Officer in Regards to Arrest.

Jail Time and Probation: The length of possible jail time and/or probation will vary according to how many DUIs you have. In Louisiana, jail time for a first arrest ranges from 10 days to six months.

AA and/or Counseling Requirement: In some places, DUI offenders must attend Alcoholics Anonymous a set number of times each week. You may also have to attend classes about the dangers of drinking and driving, or even go through alcohol or drug abuse counseling.

Driver’s License Suspension or Inter-Lock Device: You will almost always lose your driver’s license for a set period of time. In Louisiana, this is 12 months for a first-time offender, or 24 months if your blood alcohol content was .20 or higher. You can apply for a hardship license, however, which will allow you to drive to work. If this is granted, you will generally need to install an inter-lock device. This device attaches to your ignition and tests your breath for alcohol. If you have been drinking, the vehicle will not start, and the result will transmit to the court.

Do Not Navigate a DUI Without a Lawyer

Whether you choose a public defender or hire a private lawyer, you should always have a lawyer when it comes to a DUI. The reason for this is simple: the lawyer will know more about DUI laws that you do, and can typically orchestrate a more favorable outcome. For example, in Louisiana, a first-time offender can get between 10 days and six months in jail. That’s a pretty big difference. A lawyer will almost always benefit you, and if you can afford it, a specialized DUI lawyer represents the ideal choice.

Why DUI Is a Crime

DUIs count as fairly serious misdemeanors, at least in terms of punishment, and can even count as felonies. A DUI is a crime because its represents gross irresponsibility on the part of the perpetrator. Someone who drives under the influence not only abuses their driving privilege, but also puts everyone else on or near the road in danger. Every year, countless accidents occur due to drinking and driving, many of which result in the serious injury or death of other motorists or pedestrians.

DUI vs DWI

A Man Behind Bars to Illustrate Pre-Trial Detention for a DUI.

In Order to Escape Pre-Trial Detention, You Will Need to Post Bail.

The difference between these two acronyms is confusing, and varies state to state. DUI typically means “driving under the influence,” while DWI means “driving while intoxicated.” Some states use one or the other to describe the same crime. Other states use both terms, one to describe intoxication from alcohol, and the other to describe intoxication from drugs. Still other states will use one to describe offenses that adults commit, and the other for juvenile offenses. In Louisiana, the acronyms get employed interchangeable.

DUI FAQ

Is DUI a Criminal Offense?

Yes, a DUI counts as a criminal offense in every state. DUIs actually come with both administrative and criminal penalties. Administrative penalties include loss of your driver’s license, while criminal penalties include jail time.

Which Is Worse, DUI or DWI?

Most states, including Louisiana, use these terms interchangeably. Therefore, one is not worse than the other.

Is it Possible to Get a DUI Dismissed?

There do exist ways to have a DUI dismissed. These could include:

  • Lack of Probable Cause: If there existed no reason for the officer to pull you over, i.e., you did not swerve, run a stop sign, or exceed the speed limit, you can possibly have the DUI dismissed.
  • Unreliable Sobriety Tests: If the test was conducted on uneven pavement, you were wearing inappropriate shoes, or the officer failed to explain things clearly, this could result in a dismissal.
  • You Were Not Driving: If there exists no verifiable proof that you were actually the occupant driving the vehicle, you can have a DUI dismissed.

Do I Need a Lawyer for First DUI?

You do not need a lawyer for a first DUI. However, you should strongly consider getting one. Even a public defender will do, as they have knowledge about court procedures and DUI law that you will likely lack. Of course, a specialized, private DUI attorney is the ideal way to go.

Can I Get a Job with a DUI? 

Yes, but it depends on the job. If the job requires you to drive a vehicle or operate any machinery, you likely will not get hired. Many other types of jobs will not hold a misdemeanor DUI against a potential hire.

How Does a Bail Bond Work?

A Picture of a Gavel That is Set On Top of One Hundred Dollar Bills

How Does Someone Post Bail? Learn More!

If you have never had to post bail for someone, the whole idea of bail bonds might seem foreign to you. This is understandable because the process seems like it would be straightforward, but it is a lot more convoluted than people would think. While bail is used to secure someone’s release from jail custody, it is also used as a guarantee that someone will appear at their scheduled court date. So when we use a bail bond, we are making a promise or “surety” that the defendant will appear in court or the bail will be forfeited. If someone decides to not go to their court date, this is considered bail and will come with a lot of consequences, one of which is that whoever put the bail up will not receive that money back. If a bail bondsman uses a bond to pay your bail, they will get the premium of the bail and the person who paid the premium will lose that money. Again, when someone decides to post bail, it can be hard to understand. Fortunately, we have come up with answers to questions that will make understanding the bail process a whole lot easier.

How Do You Bond Someone Out of Jail?

When you find out that a loved one has been arrested, the first thing you think to do is to call a bail agent. While this is a great first step, there are a couple of things you should do before you call a bail bondsman. You will want to find out where your friend or family member is being detained and what their booking status. This will make things a lot easier on you and the bail bond company that you decide to work with. So what is the process of bails bonds? Once you have that information, you can do the following.

  • Call a Bail Bond Agent: The bail bond agent will be able to call the jail where your loved one is detained and find out the bail amount. Sometimes if it’s someones first offense, they can be released on their own recognizance.
  • Different Types of Bail To Choose From: If you think you can afford the bail amount, then you can just pay it in cash and not go through a bail bondsman. If the bail is $10,000 and you have to, you might want to use a bail bondsman. In those types of situations, you will use a surety bond, which is an agreement that you make with the bail bondsman to post bail for your family member or friend.
  • Pay the Bail: While a bail bondsman will post bail, you still have to pay a premium. This is so if your friend or family member skips bail, it acts as insurance for the bail bond company. Typically, bail premiums will be 5% or 12% of the amount of bail.

After those steps have been completed, the next step will be for the bail bondsman to secure the release of the defendant. Having a professional and licensed bail bond agent walk you through the process will make the whole situation a little bit less stressful and easier to handle.

Is Bail and Bond the Same Thing?

A Man Is Pointing On a Piece of Paper To Show Where the Woman Should Sign

Either You Will Pay the Bail with Cash or Use a Surety Bond.

A lot of people always ask, “Is bond different than bail?” and the answer is yes. Typically, people will use those words interchangeably, but they do mean two different things. So what is the difference between posting bond and posting bail? Bail refers to the actual money that must be paid to secure the release of someone in jail; a bond is what a bail bond agent will use to get someone released from jail. So bail is like insurance for the courts, as it ensures that a defendant follows certain regulations. If bail is paid in cash then the person who put down the money is losing that money if someone skips bail; if bail is paid with a bail bond and the defendant skips bail, the bail bond company gets the keep the premium of the bail amount.

Can You Bail Yourself Out of Jail?

Another question people like to ask is “Can inmate post their own bail?” Technically the defendant can pay their own bail. However, they will need the cash to pay the full amount. For example, if someone is arrested and their bail is $500, if they have the $500 on them, they can pay it; if they do have cash but not that much on them, then they will have to use a bail bond company to secure their release from jail. Depending on the circumstance, if you are the one who is jailed and needs to be bailed out, you may be able to talk with a bail bond agent to secure your release. Most of the time, though, your family or friends will have to either pay the cash amount or work with a bail bondsman on your behalf. 

If you are interested in bail bonds service in Baton Rouge, LA, please call Independent Bail Bonds today! Our bail process is incredibly easy and we will walk you through the whole process! Give our office a call at 225-414-9999 to speak with a bail bond agent about how to post bail.